Homeschooling is incredibly popular all over the United States.
Regardless of which state you live in, it is legal to do so, but every state has its own rules and requirements you need to follow.
If you live in the state of Nevada and you want to homeschool, then it is important to know what you need to stay within the legal homeschooling parameters of the state.
We have put together a complete guide to homeschooling in Nevada that will help you and your kids get started.
You will find all the basic information you need to know, so read on to learn more about it.
Requirements For Homeschooling In Nevada
Like every other state in the U.S., Nevada has its own rules and regulations you need to follow in order to legally homeschool.
Nevada is definitely one of the more relaxed states in its approach to homeschooling, and there aren’t too many rules you need to follow.
The main requirements for homeschooling in the state of Nevada include:
- Parents or legal guardians must file a Notice of Intent (NOI). You only have to do this one time, and we will go into a bit more information about this later.
- Parents must also include an Educational Plan of Instruction along with the Notice of Intent.
- In the state of Nevada, there is a list of required subjects you are required to teach as part of your homeschool curriculum (more information on this further down).
Aside from these requirements, you do not have to do anything else in order to homeschool your children in the state of Nevada legally.
If you need any advice about these requirements, you can talk to your local school district.
Notice Of Intent
In the state of Nevada, a letter or Notice of Intent is required by law when you plan to homeschool your children.
You do need to include quite a lot of information in this Notice of Intent, but we will walk you through everything you need to know.
All children between the ages of 7 and 18 must be enrolled in education, so if your children are in this age bracket and you don’t plan on sending them to public school, you will have to submit a notice of intent to your superintendent of the school district.
You must send your Notice Of Intent within 10 days of removing them from public school and within 30 days if you have moved states. The Notice of Intent should include the following information:
- Your child’s full name, age, and gender.
- Your full name and address.
- An Educational Plan of Instruction that includes the required subjects by the state of Nevada.
- A statement letter that declares that you have legal rights to your child’s education, as well as declaring that you assume full responsibility for their education while they are being homeschooled.
- A statement that prohibits the release of information you have included in your Notice of Intent.
As long as you include all of this information in your Notice of Intent and submit it before 10 or 30 days, you should have no issues in getting started with homeschooling.
Educational Plan Of Instruction
You must include an Educational Plan of Instruction in your Notice of Intent.
Your Educational Plan should include a general outline of what you are planning on teaching your child.
This should include the required subjects, which can be found below.
The Educational Plan should be a general outline of your whole curriculum, not a daily lesson plan or schedule.
In the state of Nevada, if you include your Educational Plan of Instruction in your Notice of Intent, you will not be denied approval to homeschool your kids.
Record Keeping In Nevada
In the state of Nevada, there are no legal requirements for record-keeping when it comes to homeschooling.
While it is not required, many homeschooling families in the state do keep records of their children’s education.
This is because it can help with getting into college and creating a high school transcript.
Having a record of your children’s homeschooling education can also help in tracking their progress so you know when they are ready to graduate.
It is up to you as the tutor and parent if you want to keep records though, so take some time to decide if it is right for you and your children.
Qualifications For Homeschooling In Nevada
If you are a homeschooling parent or legal guardian in the state of Nevada, you are not required to have any qualifications.
This means that you do not need your high school diploma or equivalent qualifications in order to legally homeschool your kids.
As long as you are the legal guardian or parent of your children, you will be able to homeschool your children in the state, regardless of your own educational background.
Required Subjects For Homeschooling In Nevada
As we have previously mentioned, there are a few required subjects you will need to teach your kids if you are homeschooling them in Nevada.
You are free to decide how and when you will teach them, but they must be included in your curriculum.
The required subjects needed for homeschooling in the state of Nevada include:
- Social Studies
English should include things like reading, composition, and writing, and Social Studies should include history, geography, economics, and government.
You can work these subjects into your curriculum however you see fit, as long as they are included.
Days Required For Homeschooling In Nevada
In the state of Nevada, there are no required days you need to complete in order to stay within the laws of homeschooling. This means that you are free to work out a schedule that works for you and your children.
Public schools run over 180 days per academic year, so if you want to use that as a template, you can.
You are free to decide which days and what sort of hours work for you, so talk to your children and see what works best.
Standardized Testing In Nevada
If you live in the state of Nevada and are homeschooling your children, they are not required by law to take part in standardized testing.
You can have your kids tested if you wish, and you should talk to your school district about this if it is an avenue you want to explore.
Much like Wyoming (which we recently wrote a guide about), there are no specific graduation requirements in the state of Nevada, so it is up to the parent or legal guardian to determine when their kids are ready to graduate.
You will need to provide a high school diploma and outline what your children need to do in order to graduate.
Nevada Homeschool $5,000 Fund
In the state of Nevada, you will hear lots of people talk about the Nevada Homeschool $5,000 Fund.
While a Nevada Education Savings Account (NV-ESA) program was actually passed in 2015, it was never funded and is now, unfortunately, non-operational.
This fund would have helped homeschooling families with tuition and fees for schools, materials needed for homeschooling, and other related things, but it is not possible to get this fund now.
So, if you do hear about the Nevada Homeschool $5,000 Fund, all you will find is the information we have already provided.
Returning To Public School
Homeschooling is not always a permanent option, and for some families, it’s in their best interest for children to return to public school.
In the state of Nevada, your children can be reenrolled into public school, but you should be aware of some of the things that will be asked of you.
If your children are in the grades K-6, they will usually be subject to placement tests. This is pretty standard across all grade K-6 schools, so be prepared for this.
If your child is in eighth grade, it is also likely that they will need to take required courses before they can move on to the ninth grade.
You can find out all the information about this from your school district or the school you plan on putting your child in.
Your local school district and superintendent can help you when it comes to enrolling your children back into public school.
Don’t be afraid to ask any and all questions you have so you have the right information before your kids go back to public school.
You may also like: Homeschooling in Wyoming.
The state of Nevada is quite a relaxed state for homeschoolers.
While they do have specific laws and requirements you need to follow, they aren’t too difficult to get sorted out before you actually start homeschooling.
Use the information and advice we have provided in this guide to successfully start homeschooling your children in the state of Nevada.
If you have any extra questions or queries, don’t be afraid to talk to your school district or school superintendent; they will be able to provide clarity if you need it.
And remember, if you want to reenroll your children in public school, you can.
Further reading: Homeschooling in Wisconsin.
- How To Not Go Crazy Homeschooling Kids: A Guide For Frazzled Parents - February 22, 2024
- What To Do When You Feel Like You’re Failing Homeschooling - February 21, 2024
- 7 Tips On How To Make Homeschooling Easier - February 20, 2024